

15 March 2022

Dear President von der Leyen,
Dear Commissioner McGuinness,

While the number of Ukrainian civilians who are displaced, injured or worse, reaches millions, the European Union continues to send money to Russia for the provision of gas. Our dependency on Russian gas funds Putin's war and enables the attacks on the Ukrainian people, its historic cities and the principle of sovereign self-determination that we hold dear.

Your Commission, Member States and this Parliament are clear. We welcome your plan to make Europe independent from Russian fossil fuels. This stands in stark contrast with the proposal to incentivise investments in fossil gas through the Taxonomy Regulation which was decided by your Commission before the Russian invasion of Ukraine. We should transition away from fossil gas, and avoid the increase in its use through the construction of new gas plants. This Delegated Act does the exact opposite.

We were therefore surprised to see that in your REPowerEU plan, this Delegated Act was left untouched. Withdrawing the Delegated Act will increase the focus of investments on truly sustainable energy sources and thereby increase our energy independency. Maintaining the Delegated Act, on the other hand, will only further increase our dependency on gas and our reliance on Russian imports. This would undermine the effectiveness of the REPowerEU plan which we need to succeed.

There is a clear need to end our reliance on Russian gas and transition to renewable sources.

Therefore, we demand the Commission to withdraw the Complementary Delegated Act.

Yours sincerely,

Francois Alfonsi Henrike Hahn Rasmus Andresen Christophe Hansen Eric Andrieu Martin Hausling Marc Angel Anja Hazekamp Maria Arena Martin Hojsik Pär Auken Margrete Holmgren Bah Kuhnke Alica Yannick Jadot Pernando Barrena Agnes **Jongerius** Robert Biedron Petros Kokkalis **Benoit** Biteau Miapetra Kumpula-Natri

Malin Björk Aurore Lalucq
Michael Bloss Philippe Lamberts
Manuel Bompard César Luena

Simona

Bonafé

Patrick Breyer Fabio Massima Castaldo

Chris

Macmanus

Delara Burkhardt Marisa Matias Reinhard Butikofer Liudas Mazylis Damien Careme Nora Mebarek Anna Cavazzini Silvia Modig Mohammed Chahim **Niklas Nienass** Ville Toni Comin Niinisto Antoni Comin I Oliveres Grace O'Sullivan Cormand **Paulus** David Jutta Corrao Mikuláš Peksa Ignazio

Ciaran Cuffe Kira Marie Peter-Hansen

Jakob Dalunde Larrouturou Pierre Rosa D'Amato Sirpa Pietikäinen Gwendoline **Delbos-Corfield** Evelyn Regner Karima Delli Reintke Terry Deparnay-René Repasi Anna Grunenberg Thijs Reuten Pascal Durand Michele Rivasi Ďuriš Nicholsonová Lucia Caroline Roose

Eickhout Bas Mounir Satouri Evi Eleonora Christel Schaldemose Cornelia **Ernst Andreas** Schieder **Niels Fuglsang** Sidl Guenther Malte Gallee Michal Šimečka Alexandra Geese Šimečka Michal Dino Giarrusso Linea Sogaard-Lidell

Glucksmann Raphaël Jordi Solé Claude Gruffat Tineke Strik Guillaume Sylvie Paul **Tang** José Gusmão Vera Tax **Jytte** Guteland Marie **Toussaint** Ernest Urtasun
Kathleen van Brempt
Kim van Sparrentak

Villumsen Nikolaj Vind Marianne Vollath Bettina Thomas Waitz Mick Wallace Sarah Wiener Michal Wiezik Emma Wiesner

Isabel Wiseler-Lima Tiemo Woelken Lara Wolters